Books, books and more books!

The Library of Congress is holding its tenth annual Book Festival this weekend in Washington, DC.  You can go down to the mall (and it looks to be a nice day, the heat we’re experiencing now should be gone by then) and hear authors speak about their books (see the Festival site for a list of who will be there) and have them sign a copy of one of their books specially for you (or one of your loved ones, should you be feeling generous).  It looks to be a great way to spend a beautiful Saturday.  A few folks to be on the lookout for:

Elizabeth Alexander wrote and read a poem for President Obama’s inauguration in January 2010.  When I was in high school (way back in the Dark Ages), she came to our school to read from her collection of poems “The Venus Hottentot”, which she signed for me.  I still have it.

James McGrath Morris used to teach history, and I have always admired his thoughtfulness as a teacher.  He has published a few books about politics and about the press.  He’s a wonderful writer and I love to hear him speak.

Diana Gabaldon is the main reason I’ll be going.  I have read every book in her Outlander series at least twice, if not more, and am eagerly anticipating the arrival of her most recent publication, the graphic novel The Exile. The Outlander is a mixture of historical fiction, science fiction, romance and some pretty darn fantastic writing.  The series made me fall in love with Scotland, and particularly the Highlands (and I know I’m not the only one).  She has also inspired me to start writing again (thus this blog, among others).

There are many more authors coming to the Book Festival this weekend, and there’s just not enough space to talk about them all, and I’m sure someone will be offended by those authors that I have not mentioned.  Suffice it to say that there is at least one author there that everyone would be interested in seeing.  Will you be there?

Leave a Reply

