Who’s afraid of the big blank screen?

Well, I’d be lyin’ if I said not I, but it’s a heck of a lot less scarier than it used to be.

Huh? I hear you say.  “Whatchoo talkin’ about, Ms. H?”

Well, I would like to point out that as of this writing, it is December 1, 2010.  That means that NaNoWriMo ended yesterday.  And I won.  Barely.  I eked it out.  And I think that they have a grace period for verifying your word count (Shh! Don’t tell them!), because I verified at five past 12am, and was still declared a winner.  I don’t feel like I cheated, mind you.  Because I didn’t.  At midnight, I had 49,700 some odd words.  Five minutes later I was at the magic number.

Which is not at all the point.  (“Would you get to the point?!” I hear you cry.)  Apologies.  I got fewer than five hours of sleep last night, and then went and taught 10th graders for most of the day.  You’re lucky I’m even this coherent (which isn’t very, I know).

So here’s my point.

When I woke up this morning, I was convinced that I would not want to do ANY writing today.  None.  Nada.  Zip.  Zilch. Niente.

But here I am.  Moments ago, I sat down to my computer with an irresistible urge to write.  Something.  Anything.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is the whole point of NaNoWriMo (in this writer’s opinion).  Just get out there and WRITE.  All the writers say it – it’s not just about talent, it’s about seat time.

So if NaNoWriMo can get me to write my butt off for a month (well, ok, the bulk of it was a “hail Mary” pass over the last week) and then I still want to write, then I would say that’s a good thing, wouldn’t you?

Thank you to the wonderful people at NaNoWriMo for hosting this wild ride, and I look forward to doing it again next year.

But could someone please hit me over the head with something heavy and remind me that the whole 1667 words a day is MUCH MUCH MUCH more fun and doable than 30,000 words in the final week?  Please?  Thanks in advance.

Don’t forget to check out my winner badge!  It’s over there! →

One comment on “Who’s afraid of the big blank screen?

  1. Sarcasmom says:

    Congratulations Jess. I knew you would do it! And the badge has a monkey. Awesome !

Leave a Reply

