You know how I love those visuals…

Well, here’s another one.  This one comes courtesy of NPR’s Planet Money blog, which goes along with the Planet Money podcast.  First, I cannot say enough about how much I love Planet Money.  It is smart, funny, and fun.  And you learn stuff, too.  Most of the economic concepts that I had a hard time figuring out when I took macro and micro econ eons ago have been really well explained by these guys.  They have excelled at explaining the many, many, many complicated financial issues behind this latest financial crisis (I even kind of understand credit default swaps. I think), and I’ve actually used a few episodes of their podcast in my classroom as well.

Plus, I have a bit of a crush on David Kestenbaum.  Don’t tell anyone.

At any rate, this post on the Planet Money blog gives a really good and highly sobering visual of the jobs market since 2001.  Quite dramatically, it shows jobs lost and gained in the US, and it breaks those jobs down by sector.  When the animated chart reaches 2008/09, the drop in jobs is quite stunning, and yet, there are still some sectors where jobs increased.  The posting itself does a good job of explaining some of reasons for the differences.  Check it out when you get the chance.

One comment on “You know how I love those visuals…

  1. Leslie says:

    Jess, Me Too !!! I am so much more economically literate after listening to their take on the economy. Loved the one about the country that used carved stones for currency. As for Kestenbaum … I hear you … in my day it was Noah Adams.

Leave a Reply

