Back to school…

For me!  This week I just started back at school.  I’m enrolled at George Mason University’s World History Master’s degree program.  I’m very excited, and also a bit nervous too.  It’s been 12 years since I completed my master’s in education, 15 since I finished college (yikes, almost 16) and 20 since high school (yeuurgh. that looks all kinds of scary listed out in years like that).  So the nervousness comes because I just haven’t had to perform as a serious academic student in ages.  Not that I haven’t taken courses, I’ve done loads, but there’s a big difference between a week long institute where there’s no homework and an entire master’s program.

My first class is entitled “Race, Colonialism and Resistance: The Case of South Africa”.  Jumping right in the deep end with the big kids, I am.  Since my knowledge of Africa is miniscule, this will definitely be a challenge.  However, the professor seems beyond enthusiastic about his subject matter, and I know I’ll learn a lot just by sitting in the same room.  Add in actually doing the work and I might actually make something of this venture!

It will take some getting used to, though.  In addition to class (not to mention the day job, which with the grading is also a night job most of the time), there’s the reading, which looks to be averaging about a book a week.  Remember from the top how it’s been a while since I’ve done that?  So, speaking of that, I’m going to go and do some of that homework right now.  This week’s book is Forgotten Frontier: Colonist and Khoisan on the Cape’s Northern Frontier in the 18th Century by Nigel Penn.

Thank goodness we got a snow day today!

Leave a Reply

