To my 10th grade European history teacher…

Dear Miss Hamill,

I am sorry that I never had the chance to tell you this in person.  I said I would visit you, and I never did. I know now how much that would have meant to you, and I am sorry.  Please know that ever since I became a teacher 12 years ago, you have never been far from my thoughts, and I want to thank you.

Thank you for teaching me.

Thank you for teaching me to love history.

Thank you for understanding my potential as a teacher and giving me a chance to experiment in your classroom (so brave of you!).

Thank you for understanding my limitations and steering me in the right direction, though I didn’t understand at the time.  I do now, and I always use your advice as an example for my own students.  Hopefully one day they too will understand.

Thank you for caring about me, not just my education.

Thank you for being at school every day with a smile on your face and a lesson ready to go.

Thank you for loving teaching and sharing that with us.

Thank you for putting up with my talking in class – I know it must have driven you crazy.

Thank you for not losing your patience or temper with me or any of my classmates.

Thank you for sharing a part of yourself with your students for all those years.

Thank you for being a good teacher.

I know that this can never, ever be enough.  But I hope it’s a start.

3 comments on “To my 10th grade European history teacher…

  1. Meera Collier-Mitchell says:

    Ohh. She would have loved this letter.

  2. Austin James says:

    It’s funny how we all have that one teacher whose impression is still felt today. Mine was my 7th grade Geography teacher. He was awesome and passed his passion on to countless students.

  3. ann simon says:

    Mine was Miss WIlliams, 4th grade, first time the school system integrated. An AMAZING teacher and an AMAZING woman. AND first teacher who ever really liked me. I still feel it all the way through.

Leave a Reply

